‎Finally, Buhari takes Benue

All Progressives Congress presidential candidate, Maj-Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd), has finally defeated President Goodluck Jonathan in the presidential election results in Benue State.
He got a convincing win with over 70,000 extra votes after the long-awaited results for Makurdi, the state capital, came in around 2am on Tuesday.
Buhari polled 38,685 votes in Makurdi to bring is overall total votes in the 23 local government areas of the state to 373,961.
Jonathan scored 19,739 votes in Makurdi to bring his total vote haul to 303,737.
The two presidential candidates had been in a head-to-head race in the state since Sunday when‎ results of the election started trickling in.
At a point, Jonathan led when the results of the first five local governments were released and remained in the lead till around 11am on Monday.
However, Buhari later overtook him and continued to lead marginally till he won convincingly on Tuesday morning.
In the results declared by the. Presidential Election Collation Officer in the state, Prof. Hayward Mafuyai‎, in Makurdi, Jonathan won in 14 local governments, while Buhari took the remaining nine.
Although, the President won more local governments, Buhari scored higher votes in the nine he won.
Jonathan won in Ogbadibo, Ukum, Agatu, Ado, Okpokwu, Ohimini, Guma, Otukpo, Apa, Gwer-West, Oju, Obi, Katsina-Ala and Logo.
On the other hand, Buhari won in Tarka, Gboko, Gwer-East, Ushongo, Konshi‎sha, Makurdi, Vandeikya, Buruku and Kwande.
The details of the results are presented local government -by-local government below:
Gboko LG

APC 54,065
PDP 22,971

Tarka LG
APC 15,037
PDP 4,134

Gwer East LG
APC 19,873
PDP 14,363

Ushongo LG
APC 20,958
PDP 13,160

Kwande  LG
APC 31,896
PDP 15,483

Konshisha LG
APC 34,344
PDP 6,957

Buruku LG
APC 23,397
PDP 15,407

Guma LG
APC 9,952
PDP 15, 521

Otukpo LG
APC 13,591
PDP 17,591

Apa LG
APC 4,526
PDP 6,450

Gwer West LG
APC 9,649
PDP 12,246

Oju LG
APC 10,821
PDP 14,617

Obi LG
APC 3,936
PDP 9,097

‎Ogbadibo LG
PDP 6,937
APC 6,257

Agatu LG
PDP 7, 382
APC 2, 328

Okpokwu LG
PDP 12,103

Ohimini LG
PDP 5,909
APC 4,734

Ado LG
PDP 7, 382
APC 2, 328

Katsina-Ala LG

PDP 27,094

APC 13,059‎

Logo LG

PDP ‎16,167

APC 6,376

Vandeikya LG
PDP, 14,080

APC, 26,343
Ukum LG

PDP 16,774
APC, 15,639
Makurdi LG
PDP ‎19,739
APC 38,685
Grand Total
APC: 373,961
PDP: 303,737

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s